My Journey Continued……

Disclaimer: I am aware that there are women who weigh more than I did at my biggest and feel confident and are healthy. It is not my intention to make those women feel badly about themselves or tell them they need to change. But it is my desire to inspire those who do want to lose weight. I’ve been there. I am there now. And if me bearing my soul can help just one woman, I will do it.

************

Several years ago (I believe it was just after Kevin and I got married), when I really started gaining weight, I used to tell Kevin that if I ever got over 200 pounds, he should just put me out of my misery. I was kidding of course, but when I did actually hit that 200 mark, I was devastated. I remember getting on the scale and crying my eyes out when it read: 203, and from there on out, I avoided scales like the plague! I remember crying in the dressing room as I kept going up another pant size, then another, then another. Crying when I would see old pictures of my thinner, and what I considered to be prettier self, fearing I could never get there again. Crying because I didn’t even want my own husband to see how big I’d gotten.

4 months ago, I cried when the nurse left the room after weighing me in at my biggest, 250 pounds. I hadn’t weighed myself since I was 235 and I couldn’t believe I’d let my 5’6 frame get to that. So, that day, when my doctor told me I needed to go low carb, I wasn’t happy. (Give up my pasta and soda? No way, lady!) But I knew she was right.

image

If you’ve read my blog from 3 months ago, titled “My Journey”, you know how the story continues…

Well, today, I got on the scale and weighed in at 208. I’m so close to One-derland, I can taste it! πŸ™‚ I no longer crave the horrible things I used to consume on a daily basis. If you would have told the dew-guzzling, pasta-loving version of me that I would be starting 2015 almost 50 pounds lighter, I probably would have laughed in your face. But so much has changed since then, and I am so grateful!

Now, I celebrate when I get on the scale and see that I’ve lost another pound or two. I cry tears of joy when I try on jeans that are 2 sizes smaller and they fit! I get downright giddy when my husband wraps his arms around me and tells me my waist feels smaller.

My journey is far from over. I still have at least 58 more pounds to lose, but I’m getting closer every day. And I will never give up. Having this blog, my Facebook group, and other low carb support groups has helped me immensely!  Seeing your stories of weight loss and victory, having you all cheer me on…it is truly inspiring! I hope you’ll stay with me through this journey. β™‘

2 responses to “My Journey Continued……

  1. So glad that I found your blog. It is so very encouraging that you are taking us along on your journey. I’ve just joined your Facebook group and look forward to following your success to your goal weight.

    Like

Leave a Reply

