Thyroid Awareness Month–Check Your Neck!

image

January is Thyroid Awareness Month.

The thyroid gland is located in the neck and controls how quickly the body uses energy, makes proteins, and controls how sensitive the body is to other hormones. It participates in these processes by producing thyroid hormones, the principal ones being triiodothyronine (T3) and thyroxine (sometimes referred to as tetraiodothyronine (T4)). These hormones regulate the growth and rate of function of many other systems in the body.

As someone with hypothyroidism/hashimoto’s (an underactive thyroid), I am fully aware of the effects this has on someone’s life. Weight gain, fatigue, aches and pains, swelling, brain fog, depression, mood swings, etc…I allowed these things to consume me before finally seeking treatment. I was miserable, to say the least. But after finding the right doctor, getting on meds (I take 32.5mg of Naturethroid twice daily), and starting a low carb diet, I am finally starting to feel normal again. I’ve lost almost 40 pounds, I have more energy, and I have less aches and pains, for sure. Not to mention, I’ve stopped having constant headaches and the depression is now a memory.

I feel better now that I have in years and I know that I owe a LOT of that to the way I now eat! I am so grateful that my doctor recommended I go low carb and encouraged me to do my research! 🙂 I can’t wait to see the doctor in 2 weeks and go over my labs. I have no doubt that my levels will be way better than they were last time. (I will post again when I get the results.)

If you have issues with being unable to lose weight, struggle with depression, mood swings, aches and pains, etc…think about getting your thyroid checked. Not just your TSH, but a FULL thyroid panel. For more info on the subject, visit:
http://www.stopthethyroidmadness.com

Leave a Reply

