Still Learning…Always Learning

On December 15th, I celebrated 3 months on this journey. And after 3 months of LCHF, I am still learning so much. I’m learning what I can and can’t eat and I’m learning new things about my body. I’m learning that different things work for different people and I’m learning that not everyone will be supportive or agree with the path that I’ve chosen to lose weight and get healthy. But most important of all, I’ve learned that this is MY journey and mine alone. And finally, after years of being controlled by the food I craved, I am in control! I choose when, what, and how much I eat. It’s truly an incredible feeling.

That said, I’d like to share a little more of my story with you. Below, are 3 pictures of me. First one is from 2005. I was 18 and weighed about 125 pounds. The second pic is me at my heaviest, 250 pounds. And the last pic is of me now, at 212 pounds.

image

If I’m being completely honest, I wasn’t even fit in the first pic. I was slim, but I was not fit. I couldn’t run to save my life. I remember dreading gym class, especially when we had to run. I was definitely not what you would call an athletic person. I was constantly snacking. I hid candy in my car and my room and I was already highly addicted to mountain dew. It was all downhill from there.

I am not proud of the middle picture. I hate it, in fact. I was a bridesmaid in a friend’s wedding and I remember feeling so gross and huge the first time I saw that picture. But I didn’t hate it enough to do anything about it. I didn’t know what to do about it.

After visiting the doctor back in September, she recommended I go low carb, I started doing research and found a lot of really awesome info and several inspiring stories of weight loss and better health. So, I quit eating bread, pasta, and sugar, but I was still doubtful. I didn’t exercise and I wasn’t really trying. I was still cheating every now and then and was still eating bananas and yogurt, along with a few other things I should have been avoiding. Yet, when I went for my one month check up, I’d lost 12 pounds!!! I was ecstatic and it inspired me to keep going, research it more, and get a little more strict with my eating. I started actually counting my carbs and now, three months later, I’ve lost a total of 38 pounds!

I still have a little over 60 pounds to lose till my goal weight, but I’ve come so far and it’s so inspiring to see the progress I’ve made so far! Below is a full body pic. First one is at 250 pounds, second one is now at 212 pounds.

image

You can even tell a huge difference just in my face!

image

But the most inspirational thing is when people look at me and say “Wow! You really are losing weight! I can see it!” It’s one of the best feelings in the world, having all your hard work noticed!

If you’ve been considering going low carb, please give it a try! I promise you will NOT regret it! As someone with an underactive thyroid, this is the only thing that has worked for me and I am eternally grateful that my doctor recommended it to me! If you have any questions about this way of eating, feel free to comment or send me a private message. I am not an expert and I am still learning, but I would love to help you get started and direct you toward some good resources. πŸ™‚

7 responses to “Still Learning…Always Learning

  1. My husband and I are both going low-carb on Jan. 1, 2015. I have already cleared out my kitchen cupboards and refrigerator of high carb foods and gave them to my grandson and his family. I have to get rid of the “temptations” so that I don’t fail at this new lifestyle. I have been on every diet plan there is, including getting the lapband put in 7 yrs ago. It did not help me at all. I am an older post menopausal grandma with hypothyroidism, plus other medical issues that I am taking medicine for (T2 diabetes, heart disease, high cholesterol, high blood pressure, etc), I am at my highest weight now, and want to lose a substantial amount…and so does my husband. We are “empty-nesters” so it’s just us and I do the majority of the cooking. I have researched numerous low-carb websites, recipe sites, and copied a pantry list of the foods I need to have around.

    Any tips, suggestions, or information you can give me to get started and be successful, will be very much appreciated. I also want to say….”Good job” on your weight loss so far. You go girl!

    Like

    • Thanks for your comment, Susan! I am excited for you! Low carb will change your life for sure! I’ve seen so many awesome success stories in the last 3 months and it’s very encouraging.
      The first month is the hardest. Especially the first couple weeks. You will likely go through withdrawal and will probably feel sick. But don’t let it deter you. Because once your body adjusts to burning fat instead of carbs, it is sooo worth it! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

