Making Goals & How To Achieve Them

If you are anything like me, when your thyroid slowed down, so did your entire body. You started putting on weight, you didn’t have any energy, you felt sick all the time…sound familiar? And then maybe you got put on the wrong medicine a few times, maybe you’re still not on the right medicine for you. Maybe you’re still looking for the doctor who will truly listen and help you. Or maybe you’ve found him/her and are now on your way to FINALLY feeling normal again.

Wherever you are in your journey, it’s important to make goals. They could be weight loss goals or just general health goals. For me, it’s both. But whatever goals you make, be sure they’re SMART. Oh, you remember learning about SMART goals, right? Do you remember what the letters stand for? Well, if not, here’s a reminder.

imageSome people might simply say they want to lose weight. But if you use the SMART guideline, you can see your goal more clearly and it becomes much more real and tangible–a reachable goal, rather than a far off wish. (The world is not a wish granting factory. ;))

So here is an example of a SMART goal. This is mine: I want to continue this low carb lifestyle and be successful in my quest to get healthy. I have lost 30 pounds, but I would like to lose 80 more pounds by next Christmas (2015) because I feel that will be a healthy, comfortable weight for me.

My goal is SPECIFIC in that I tell you what I want to do and why I want to do it.
It is MEASURABLE because I tell you exactly how much weight I want to lose.
It is ATTAINABLE because I have already been losing weight and will continue to work hard to lose.
It is REALISTIC because I don’t ever expect to fit in a size 2 (my hips are way too big for that!).
And it is TIME-BOUND because I gave a timeline of next Christmas.

You may have similar goals. Or maybe your goals have nothing to do with weight loss or health. I have other goals concerning my family and my writing career as well. But the most important thing is that you make your goals SMART. Don’t give yourself unrealistic expectations, because you will only get discouraged. Be ENCOURAGED, my friends! You are in good company!

Leave your SMART goal in the comments and let’s continue to support each other. Let us be your cheerleaders! 🙂

Leave a Reply

