Binge Triggers: What Are They And How To Avoid Them

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving and the Christmas season is upon us. And, with all those carbs floating around the table, we’re going to be tempted. But it’s important to remember WHY we’re doing this way of eating and how we can stay on track. The biggest way we can stay on track is by avoiding binge triggers.

DP - the anatomy of a binge

What is a Binge Trigger?

A binge trigger is usually something that resembles a food you used to love and, in turn, will cause you to crave more. For me, this trigger is anything sweet. And I mean ANYTHING! The day after Halloween, I decided to eat ONE fun size Snickers. But one led to another, and another, and another. Before I knew it, I’d eaten four of them. FOUR! I was miserable and I felt insanely guilty. I had let myself down in a big way and it didn’t feel good at all.

Binge triggers are different for everyone. Another one of my big triggers is BREAD. Even just half of a sandwich on regular bread makes me crave more. So much so that I just want to give in and eat whatever I want. I imagine that soda would also be a trigger for me, which is why I avoid it at all costs. I do NOT want to go down that road again.

For some people, even a low carb pizza could be a trigger, or a burger without the bun. Everyone is different and will crave different things at different times. The key is to know your triggers and stay away from them as much as possible.

So…what if I DO binge?

We all fall off the wagon from time to time, the key is getting back on. So, when you inevitably have a binge day where you just can’t help yourself, don’t panic! Just follow these four simple steps.

  1. Drink lots of water. Water flushes out the toxins you consumed, rehydrates you, and will help get rid of the water weight.
  2. Eat fruits and veggies. Okay, not too much fruit, but you will need the nutrients to kick your body back into gear.
  3. Exercise. It boosts your metabolism and will help you work off all the junk you just ate!
  4. Move on! You can’t do anything about what has already happened. Don’t dwell on it. Jump back on that low carb horse and ride it into the sunset, my friend!

All of that being said, I wish you all a WONDERFUL Thanksgiving with your family and friends. As for me, I am thankful for this new lifestyle I am living and that I am finally feeling healthy for the first time in years!

Love to you all! ❤

Leave a Reply

