The Basics of an Easy Low Carb Dinner

First off, please forgive me for not posting yesterday. My internet was out all morning and, by the time it was back up, I was too busy to post anything. 😦

But anyway…when I think of an easy dinner, I think of 3 things–skillet, casserole, crock pot. I believe this holds true whether you are low carb or not. Before, when I would fill my crock pot or casserole dish, there was always pasta or potatoes involved. Now, it’s strictly veggies and meat. And there are just so many things you can do with meat and veggies. Things I never would have thought about, considering I was just addicted to carbs. So here are a few examples of what I do for an easy low carb dinner.

Sausage and Veggie Skillet

sausage and cabbage

This is one of my favorite dishes and I make it at least once a week. Cut up the sausage and fry it in some olive oil, then toss in some cabbage, onions, garlic, or whatever veggies you feel like frying up that day. It really is delicious!

Pork Roast and Veggies

mustard-pork-loin-570x348

You can do it in the oven or, my personal favorite, in the crockpot. Rub the pork roast with your choice of seasonings, toss in some carrots, onions, and celery, and you’ve got a yummy, low carb meal! 🙂

Chicken and Veggie Casserole

chicken_casserole

Cut up some chicken and toss it into a casserole dish with some veggies (I usually just get a bag of california blend and thaw before adding it). Use a can of cream of mushroom soup and some mayo to make it nice and creamy. Top it with shredded cheese and bake it till the veggies are tender. This is one of my 4 year old’s favorite dishes. 🙂

Side Note: When in doubt, add bacon! 😉

For more recipes, visit my Pinterest board here: http://www.pinterest.com/tkprice42206/low-carb/

Leave a Reply

