How To Shop Low Carb–A Sneak Peek At My Grocery List

shopping-list

My family LIVED on pasta. Seriously. You know those 10 for 10 sales they have at the grocery stores? I would go in and buy 20 boxes of pasta. I made spaghetti, lasagna, stuffed shells, alfredo, a million different types of pasta casserole dishes…you name a type of pasta, I probably made it at one time or another. So, when my doctor told me to go “low carb”, I sat there in shock for about 5 minutes. What on earth was I going to eat now? I’m doomed to a life of meat and veggies. Nooooooooooo!

BUT, I found hope. (Well, Pinterest to be more accurate.) I found LOADS of low carb recipes. Not to mention lists of what to buy on a low carb diet! Hmm…maybe I can do this. So, off I went to Aldi. And here is what I bought:

  • Broccoli
  • Cauliflower
  • Leaf Lettuce (I use it for lunch meat wraps. Delicious!)
  • Baby Carrots
  • Greek Yogurt
  • Apples
  • Celery
  • Garlic
  • Spinach
  • Onions
  • Peppers (Green, red, and yellow)
  • Cashews (and cashew butter)
  • Butter (NOT margarine)
  • Cheese
  • Sliced meat
  • Pork Loin
  • Chicken
  • Ground beef
  • Bacon
  • Brown Rice (although it is not technically low carb, I allow a small amount on occasion)
  • Coconut Flour
  • Coconut Oil

And my biggest secret……I bought chocolate. I know, I know. But here’s what I did. You know those packages of Ghirardelli chocolates? I got the super dark chocolate ones and I put the package in the freezer. So, when I’m craving chocolate so bad I can’t stand it…I go get ONE out of the freezer and eat it. And I’m usually good for another couple days. 😉

I know I bought more than what I put on here, but I can’t quite remember everything. Next time I go to the grocery store, I will make a list of what I buy so that I can give you more.

I will also start posting my dinner recipes every day for you guys, so keep an eye out for that. Most of my foods right now are in the crock pot, so don’t be surprised when you see crockpot recipes on here every day. They’re just so wonderfully easy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

