My Journey

Hey there! My name’s Trista. I just want to give you all a little background on why and how I started my low carb journey.

In 2006, I got married. 6 months into my marriage, we started trying for a baby. No luck for several months, but I was gaining weight and having abnormal periods. So, I went to a doctor to see what was up. They did some bloodwork, then sent me on my way and never called to give me any sort of results or schedule a followup. Eventually, I called them and they told me that nothing was wrong, and that I just needed to lose some weight. Yeah. I got a new doctor. The next doctor told me I had hypothyroidism (an underactive thyroid) and PCOS (poly cystic ovary syndrome). She told me nothing about it, but prescribed me synthroid and metformin. I had no idea what the metformin was for and she didn’t tell me. She also didn’t bother to schedule a followup.

A year into taking these meds, I saw no change. I was still gaining weight among other issues, so I stopped wasting my money on meds that weren’t working and a doctor I felt did not care.

Fast forward 7 years… My thyroid problems had taken over my body and I was miserable. Weight gain, aches and pains, migraines, no energy, and to top it all off, I was severely depressed. I wanted to sleep all the time. I didn’t want to go anywhere or do anything. I didn’t even have the energy to clean my house most days. My relationships were suffering and I constantly felt like the worst mom on the planet (We adopted a baby girl in 2010). I was a wreck.

Finally, I decided it was time to go back to the doctor. So, last month (September, 2014), I went to see a doctor that had been recommended to me by a friend who also suffers from thyroid disease. We’ll call this doctor “Dr. C”. Dr. C is the most understanding, involved doctor I have ever been to in regards to my thyroid. She listened to my symptoms, was genuinely concerned for my health, and gave me more than just medicine. She gave me a stack of papers with information on what was happening with my body. She discussed my thyroid issues with me (I found out I have Hashimoto’s) and told me I am insulin resistant. She prescribed me Naturethroid and Metformin. And this time, I knew why I was taking it. She also put me on a low carb, low sugar diet.

I was excited. I knew my body was in bad shape and now I knew it was going to start getting better. At this point, I hadn’t had a period in a full 2 years and I was up to 249 pounds–the biggest I’ve EVER been! BUT…4 days into taking my meds, I got a period. It was heavy and painful, but I was happy and hopeful. FINALLY, something was going RIGHT in my body! Fast forward a month to this Tuesday (October 14th, 2014) and I got weighed in at the doctor’s office–237 pounds. I lost 12 pounds in a month!!! This was unheard of for me! This is the girl that took 4 months to lose 18 pounds one summer while I was on a strict diet and exercise plan. And I just lost 12 pounds in a month! Dr. C was ecstatic as well. She was so happy that she hugged me! She figured my body fat percentage and compared it to last months. I’ve lost 1.5% of my body fat. She measured around my waist…I’ve lost 3 inches. It was an all around glorious day and I am still on a little bit of a high from all the good news, so forgive all the exclamation points. 🙂

All in all, this has been a good month and I am so thankful for my new doctor. Let me tell you, friends, if you have thyroid issues and don’t have a doctor like this, find one! They ARE out there and it is worth the drive if you can find one who will treat you correctly.

And so, I welcome you all to my page. I would love to hear YOUR story! Do you have thyroid problems? Are you low carb? What kind of meds are you on? Have you seen any results? I want to hear from YOU! So comment on this post and join my facebook group–Low Carb Thyroid. Even if you don’t have thyroid issues and are just going low carb…or have thyroid issues and are thinking about going low carb, I welcome you all!

2 responses to “My Journey

  1. I was just diagnosed with hypothyroidism and started medication. I am looking to start a low carb eating plan and feeling very overwhelmed.

    Like

    • Thanks for your comment, Kelly!

      It was extremely overwhelming for me at first as well. I was frustrated that I could no longer eat and drink the things I loved. It just wasn’t fair, honestly. But, as the weeks of low carb went on, it got much easier to turn down those chocolate bars and sodas. I wasn’t craving them anymore.

      This blog has been a huge help for me–an outlet where I can talk about how I feel and help others along the way. I’ve also joined several Facebook groups related to Low Carb and Thyroid issues and the support/advice I get there is invaluable! Honestly, it’s all about having a good support system. Without the people I’ve been talking to about this and the encouragement I’ve given and received, I would not have made it this far! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

